FX adjusted returns and cost of portfolio

Hi, I’m pretty new to stockscafe and I apologize if the phrasing of my question cannot be easily understood, but I will try my best.

May I know how stockscafe records and adjusts for FX rates for foreign investments (e.g. for USD), to SGD as displayed in portfolio performance, capital cost of portfolio etc? If i do not enter a locked FX rate when adding a buy transaction in USD, will stockscafe lock the fx rate for that particular transaction with the fx rate for the transaction date given?

Is the portfolio performance adjusted daily to the current fx rate to sgd, using an aggregation of all the “locked fx rates” in each of my buy transactions in foreign currencies? Will my cost of portfolio be tied to this aggregation of fx rates in my buy transactions, or just dependent on the current fx rates?

I am having difficulty understanding how to keep track of the fx adjusted returns of my foreign investments, in relation to the fx rate I have used to transact them. I dont find it feasible to manually track at the exact rates and amounts I exchange my SGD to USD/HKD at, as i change them on a monthly basis and might only use the full exchanged amount sporadically over the next few weeks to months.

Hi,

Please give me some time to answer the questions neatly. Likely will write up a tutorial for this.

Cheers,
Evan

Hi Evan,

Thanks for the response, will be looking forward to it.

Regards
Song Yang

Hi,

Thank you for waiting. I almost forgot about it :frowning:

It is converted with rates from here → Comprehensive Financial Information from Singapore Stock Exchange - StocksCafe

I did not display historical data but I do have them.

Yes, it will use the rate that I have for that particular date.

Yes, it is split into Current Value and Cost Value and then converted accordingly.
e.g. Current Value in USD100 would be converted using current FX to SGD. Then Cost Value will be based on the purchased dates’ FX.