iShares JP Morgan USD Asia Credit Bond Index ETF

Hi everyone,

I am a new investor, and I was quite confused when I read an article about this bond ETF.

I understand that it is listed on SGX, and has two variants: N6M which trades in the base currency of USD; QL2 which uses SGD.

Does either one provide a currency hedge for me as a Singaporean?

I quote a sentence from the article: “The ETF does not hedge the FX risk for you if you invest via the SGD share class.”

I am quite confused. If I buy the SGD variant (QL2), wouldn’t this eliminate any FX fluctuation?

This is the URL of the actual article: https://theinvestquest.com/sgx-listed-bond-etfs-which-are-good-enough-for-our-readers/

Many thanks in advance for anyone who can enlighten me.

I have to be honest. I am no expert here. Hopefully someone more experienced than me would also respond to this.

Based on my limited knowledge, this is what I understand

1. The underlying asset is in USD (i.e. N6M)

2. No currency hedge is performed for QL2

3. This basically means that even if the underlying asset value did not change (i.e. N6M price did not change), it is possible for QL2 price to change if there is a change in USD/SGD rates.

2 Likes

Hi Kaisaul and Evan,

I’m the person who originated the post on theinvestquest. Thank you for supporting the site.

As Kaisaul mentioned, iShares JPM USD Asia Credit Bond Index ETF has two share classes, SGX ticker “QL2” is SGD-denominated, while SGX ticker “N6M” is USD-denominated. Do note that both share classes are invested in the same portfolio of bonds that are entirely denominated in USD.

Evan has explained it correctly, so I have little to add except for an analogy if it helps.