Portfolio management

I think I would say most people or bloggers are great stock pickers with analysis of stocks pretty much covered.

However, no one has thought through or reviewed portfolio management in terms of weightage, when to sell/buy, how to lock in profits etc.

Any thoughts?

some like 3FS go in heavy less than 10 stocks, some buy 60 stocks.

I have my own theory, and trying to practice, but its pretty difficult lol.
I intend to have the portfolio weightage = best estimate current dividend yield (manual forecast) +/- 0.75%. Eg SGX full year dividend is now 30 cents, and is about 3.74% yield at current price of 8.01. I would try to keep it at about 3.2 to 4.2% of my portfolio.

My long term view is to have rebalancing once the gap is at a threshold of maybe 3.5%??
My two overweighted stocks are now AA reit and DBS, and I am studying opportunities to rebalance and reduce their weight where possible (preferably by pushing up some of the underweighted stocks).

1 Like

Yes, I am also trying to figure out. For example, if a stock you bought is making 25% profit, and you are no longer sure if it’ll continue to perform as well (opportunity cost). What are thought process that goes into it?

1. Can you make more money (yield) putting the money somewhere else?
  2. Should we sell half to lock in the profit to prevent downside? “

What if the stocks is down 25%?

1. should we continue to hold on to a losing stocks?
  2. or should we accept the loss and move on?

The problem I am facing is mostly the logical step of thinking about portfolio management. We all know stock picking have a few steps like 1) PE ratio, 2) EPS/yield, 3) volume of stocks, 4) market cap, 5) volatility e.g but seldom people have an idea on portfolio management. I used to work in an asset management firm and the chief investment officer only focused fully on balancing his portfolio whereas all the equity analysts are busy picking stocks. I guess that’s what make him the CIO.